My Week Without Ancestry.com

A week ago I posted that I would be accepting the Week Without Ancestry.com Challenge. My simple reasons for taking part was that I felt it would be a good opportunity to spend my genealogy energies elsewhere for a few days. It also would be a chance to refocus my genealogy goals without getting sidetracked on Ancestry, as often happens.

Did I meet the challenge? Yes, no problem. What genealogy tasks did I accomplish? I finally labeled a heap of grave marker photographs from prior cemetery visits. I created a new database for the German church records I am researching and inputted the data. Was the challenge worthwhile? Yes, it was a healthy break. As mentioned, I spent time on organizational activities without the distraction of getting sidetracked from my main research goals.

Leave a Reply

