A Living Father’s Day Memory

My father (stitting) and grandpa planting a spruce tree, Frankenmuth Township, Michigan; Father's Day, 1975.
My father (stitting) and grandpa planting a spruce tree in my grandparents’ front yard, Frankenmuth Township, Michigan; Father’s Day, 1975.

Three years ago or so, shortly after my interest in genealogy began, I found this photograph among others my father had saved. On the back my Grandma Bernthal recorded “Dad & Roy planting spruce for fathers day 1975.” Forty years later the spruce tree still grows in the front yard of what was my grandparents’ retirement house. Now when I pass by it, I think of my dad and grandpa planting the seedling together.

Forty-year-old spruce tree; Frankenmuth Township, Michigan; 2015.
Forty-year-old spruce tree; Frankenmuth Township, Michigan; 2015.
2 thoughts on “A Living Father’s Day Memory

Leave a Reply

